ATLANTA MOTOR SPEEDWAY: Southern Crescent racers Jensen Jorgensen, Joshua Hicks, Robbie Woodall crowned Winter Flurry champs | FULL RESULTS


Jensen Jorgensen's No. 32 Legend's car crossed the finish line first during Friday night's final week of Winter Flurry action. It's Jorgensen's second Flurry crown in the last three years. (PHOTO:

Jensen Jorgensen’s No. 32 Legend’s car crossed the finish line first during Friday night’s final week of Winter Flurry action. It’s Jorgensen’s second Flurry crown in the last three years. (PHOTO:

HAMPTON, Ga. — Three Southern Crescent area racers topped the points charts and won Winter Flurry championships Friday at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Semi-pro Legends driver Jensen Jorgensen of Stockbridge snagged not only the Winter Flurry championship, but also the checkered flag in the winter racing series’ finale’ on the quarter-mile “Thunder Ring.”

It was Jorgensen’s second Flurry crown — he narrowly lost last year to Ashton Winger while in the Outlaws division — and he capped it off in style, taking the pole and maintaining his place until the end. He held off sister Taylor Jorgensen and Zach Leonhardi in the process.

Senoia’s Joshua Hicks ended up taking first in the final Outlaw’s division race by being the beneficiary of Connor Youninger’s disqualification.

In the Master’s division, it was Robbie Woodall of McDonough who finished on top in points, despite finishing fourth in his last features race, which was one by fellow McDonough resident Scott Mosley.

Hicks won his first Thursday Thunder championship since winning the 2010-11 Winter Flurry and Thursday Thunder titles.

Although the Winter Flurry has ended, another Legends and Bandolero race will take place Saturday May 9 that will have INEX points implications. The next extended action on the quarter-mile track will happen when Thursday Thunder kicks off its 18th season of action June 4.



1. Noah Dominy (Statham)
2. Ryan Younginer (Stockbridge)
3. Cameron Potter (Covington)


1. Clay Thompson (Bowersville)
2. Nathan Jackson (McDonough)
3. Blaise Maddox (Locust Grove)
4. Ryan Howell (McDonough)
5. Lawson Ingold (Social Circle)


1. Joshua Hicks (Senoia)
2. Austin Geer (Johns Creek)
3. Rick Springer (McDonough)
4. Trey Tadrzak (Stockbridge)
5. Hayden Swank (Woodstock)
6. Lexi Gay (Canton)
7. Gauntt Hudgins (Savannah)
8. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge) -DQ


1. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge)
2. Zach Leonhardi (Cartersville)
3. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge)
4. Jeff Holden (Flowery Branch)
5. Amber Fleeman (Dacula)
6. Dylan Murry (Cumming)
7. Blake Gaither (Nashville)
8. Brandon Brock (Hampton)
9. Colt Logan (Athens)


1. Scott Mosley (McDonough)
2. Bill Plemons, Jr. (Locust Grove)
3. Mark Swan (Dunwoody)
4. Robbie Woodall (McDonough)
5. Martin Snyder (Acworth)
6. Tony Armbuster (Covington)
7. Wes Potter (Covington)
8. Dennis Hect (Hoschton)
9. Randy Shubert (Conyers)




About Gabriel Stovall

Recommended for you