Southern Crescent Buzz
Don't Miss

Whitewater’s Jada Coggins wins All-Region 5-AAAA’s top honor

Sandy Creek guard Christian Turner is one of three Patriots to make the All-Region 5-AAAA first team. (PHOTO: CD Photography)

Sandy Creek guard Christian Turner is one of three Patriots to make the All-Region 5-AAAA first team. (PHOTO: CD Photography)

By Gabriel Stovall

FAYETTEVILLE, Ga. — Seventeen Southern Crescent athletes from Fayette County schools found their names on the All Region 5-AAAA Team which emerged late last week, including one player of the year.

That would be Whitewater’s Jada Coggins who nabbed the top honor on the girls side.

The 5-foot-9 senior paced the Lady Wildcats this season by notching 18.6 points and 6.2 rebounds per game. Her performance has helped push Whitewater to a 14-10 record and 7-3 mark in Region 5-AAAA. Whitewater will take on the winner of tonight’s Fayette County-Sandy Creek game Thursday at 6 p.m. in the Region 5-AAAA semifinals at Carrollton High School.

Coggins was one of three Lady Wildcats to make the squad. The others being second-team selection Rena Jenkins and Honorable Mention choice Jordan Barnett.

One of Whitewater’s potential opponents, Fayette County, tied Carrollton with the most total selections on the girls’ teams. The Lady Tigers had four, with Kayla Smith and Whitney Williams being chosen to the first and second teams respectively.

Christa Jones and Daryl Langford were both honorable mention selections for the Fayette.

For the boys, it was Sandy Creek slating the most accolades with stud point guard Christian Turner and Elias Harden finding a spot on the first team. The Patriots (16-9, 7-3) will await the winner Wednesday’s 7:30 p.m. game pitting Woodward Academy against Troup County. The winner of that game will face Sandy Creek Friday at 6 p.m. in the semis at Carrollton.

Fayette County and Whitewater also saw three of its athletes named to the squad, starting with Kenny Lewis who made the second team. Jamon Bivens and Isaac Kellum were listed as honorable mentions.

For Whitewater it was Garrett Watkins (second team), Phil Garner and Victor Ayuk (honorable mentions).


Region 5-AAAA All-Region Teams


Player of the Year: Jada Coggins – Whitewater



Kayla Smith – Fayette County

Emily Waters – Carrollton HS

Taylor Sutton – Woodward

Dee Dee Sanders – Troup Co.

Brianna Britney – Sandy Creek



Faith Swint – Carrollton HS

Alicia North – Carrollton HS

Rena Jenkins – Whitewater HS

Whitney Williams – Fayette Co

Tyler Collins – Woodward



Madison Richardson – Woodward

Christa Jones – Fayette Co.

Jordan Barnett – Whitewater

Jade Allen – Woodward

Morgan Currie – Sandy Creek

Erial Daniel – Carrollton

Daryl Langford – Fayette Co.


Christian Turner – Sandy Creek
Elias Harden – Sandy Creek
Bobby Kannady III – Woodward
Marcus Hall – Woodward
Jamal Wilkerson – Troup Co.

Kenny Lewis – Fayette County
Jarel Rowe – Carrollton HS
Jarius Farrow – Troup Co.
Garrett Watkins – Whitewater
Maxwell Chester – Woodward

Jamon Bivens – Fayette County
Phil Garner – Whitewater
Victor Ayuk – Whitewater
Isaac Kellum – Fayette Co.
Dontae Bonner – Carrollton
Bo Russell – Troup Co.
Javon Jackson – Sandy Creek